The Dos and Don’ts of Blogging

Brian Klem’s article, The 12 Dos and Don’ts of Writing a Blog, gives advice and tips to help make a blog successful. I would like to elaborate on some of the tips he mentions.

 

The Dos of Blogging:

  • Be relatable, be yourself

I think this is one of the most important Dos of all! Don’t be afraid to be yourself. You’ll enjoy blogging more and most importantly that with help you to be relatable to your audience and form an honest relationship with your viewers.

  • Respond to blog comments

Comments are so important to receive on your blog post. It helps the blogger to see what the viewers like or do not like about your blog post. If people are taking the time to comment on your blog, then it’s important for the blogger to take their time to respond to at least a few comments.

The Don’ts of Blogging:

  • Limit your word count

Brian Klem says, “If you have something to say, say it.” I couldn’t agree with this statement more. Whether your blog post is 250 words or a 1,000 words, type as much or as little as you need to get your point across.

  • Be negative

No one wants to read a negative blog. It’s important to write positive post that will inspire and help people.

 

Application:

I will apply the “dos and don’ts” mentioned in the article, in my blog post each week. I plan on trying my best to be relatable, respond in a timely manner to comments, type as much or as little as I think necessary and to be positive.

Every tip Klem mentions is important to remember in my future career. There is a strong possibly I could help in the making of a blog for my future job. I will apply all the things in this article such as, focusing on writing the best content for my readers and making as little grammar mistakes as possible.

Each week I will set aside the time and put the effort into making my blog post readable, memorable and making sure it appeals to my audience. I plan on using the advice and tips in Brian Klem’s article to accomplish all three.

Leave a Reply

