Steph’s Take on Blogging

Introduction

Welcome to my blog! My name is Stephanie Feagin. I am a Strategic Communication major. After years of thinking I wanted to be a nurse and even starting nursing school, I realized it just wasn’t for me! I had a close family friend of mine mention public relations and after learning more about it, I knew that was exactly what I wanted to do!

The Purpose of a Blog

Though I do not have my own blog nor do I currently read any blogs, I know there are various purposes as to why people make their own blog. One reason someone may make a blog is to reach a bigger audience with whom they can share their interest, love or possibly give advice and tips on a topic they feel strong about. Someone may even create a blog for the purpose of advertising and selling items. I think that’s what is so great about creating your own blog, its YOURS meaning you have the control over the content, who it is reaching, and you can do whatever you want with it! As Sean McManus says, “If you’ve got something to share, the world is waiting.”(McManus, 2016, p.10).

Ways Blogs are Used in Communications

A blog can be used in strategic communications in quite a few ways. For example, one way a blog could be used in my profession, Public Relations, would be to advertise and keep people updated on current events. Current events pertaining to the company and/or organization someone in my field of study might work with.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

